Full Circle

When I was fifteen, I wrote a mad short story called Full Circle as an English assignment. In it, a detective travels to a sleepy seaside village to investigate a string of peculiar suicides. The plot climaxes with the discovery that all the villagers are related to people who died in an ancient shipwreck, and are being called back to the sea to be with their ancestors. It concludes as follows: He continued to watch, as the villagers threw themselves off the cliff, and into the raging sea. 

So there. My penchant of writing depressing stories is nothing new.

I feel like I’ve completed my own full circle, I suppose. In the last month, I’ve been making a mad dash around New Zealand, filling in gaps and falling into reunions, as I attempt to ensure that I leave the country with a sense of completion. Of sorts.

From Stewart Island at the very bottom of the country, to Cape Reinga at the very top, there is a sense of a narrative ending that pleases my perfectionist nature. In a scarcely believable moment of poetry, my camera literally stopped working as I looked out at the very last new piece of New Zealand I ever intended to see. It won’t turn on any more, so I guess that’s that.

The Maori believe that the spirits of the dead travel to Cape Reinga to leave New Zealand. This is the point where oceans meet, waves frothing up in the middle of the water as the Tasman Sea and the Pacific Ocean collide. This is the point where souls depart, their life in New Zealand fully complete.

In my case, just two weeks to go.

Here are some photos of my time back on the North Island…

Waitomo Caves

There’s a labyrinthine underground cave network in the heart of Waikato on the North Island. In particular, the famous glow-worm cave has been a tourist attraction for over a century, and includes a magical boat ride through an underground river, where the only light comes from the thousands of glow-worms lighting up the cavern with breathtaking constellations of blue stars.

However, you can’t take photos in there, so instead here are some photos of another awesome cave nearby.

IMG_8761 IMG_8777 IMG_8779 IMG_8791
IMG_8814
IMG_8815 IMG_8826 IMG_8828Raglan

Raglan, a small surfer town on the west coast, is as mad as a box of frogs and all the frogs have hats on and the hats are made of pesto. Everyone is a surfer hippie. Even the hostel is mad. Look how mad the hostel is. It’s just made out of abandoned train carriages on top of a hill.

IMG_8843 IMG_8840 IMG_8855Northland

Northland is huge. It’s one long peninsula north of Auckland, and it takes about seven hours to drive from one end to the other. If you stick to the highway. I came here at the start of the year but I didn’t get very far north. On this trip, I stopped off at Kerikeri (first picture) before staying on an incredibly friendly farm in the middle of nowhere (Kapea Farm Hostel if you want a recommendation of a great place to stay). The owners gave me some gumboots and sent me off into their acres of farmland until I ended up on top of a hill with the late-afternoon sun drenching the grass. Awesome.

IMG_8867 IMG_8888 IMG_8908 IMG_8919 IMG_8920 IMG_8924Cape Reinga

And here you go. The top of the country. You can see the froth out in the ocean that marks where the two different bodies of water – the Pacific Ocean and the Tasman Sea – just smush into each other, like endless weird sea sex.

IMG_8953 IMG_8937 IMG_8952Ninety Mile Beach

Here’s a question for all you intellectuals. How many kilometres long is ninety mile beach? Go on, try and work it out. Get a calculator if you want. Ready for the answer? It’s ninety kilometres long. Really. Don’t ask.

You can drive along it, which is incredible. You can also climb (or surf down) giant sand dunes, which are huge and make you feel like you’re in the middle of a desert. It’s windy and cold at the top of these dunes though, and the sand gets blown everywhere. Like into the inner machinery of your camera. Oops.

The last photo in this set? The last photo my camera took. Thanks for everything, Mr. PowerShot SX 280. You were great.

IMG_8964 IMG_8971 IMG_8975 IMG_8990 IMG_8978 IMG_8993

 

One thought on “Full Circle

  1. Pingback: The End | Fof's Off

Leave a Reply

